Upper Castle Kranichfeld
The castle with Droleriefigur* in piquant pose named “Leckarsch”
The Upper Castle, a castle, stands on a hilltop protruding from the Crane Mountain. It was built in the 12th century in Romanesque style. In 1453 it was expanded into a magnificent Renaissance castle and survived until 1934 when it burned down to ruins and was only half rebuilt in 1934.
The “Dicke Turm” (3.60 m thick wall, 22 m high) gives the visitor a magnificent view over the city and the landscape conservation area Mittleres Ilmtal. The most famous symbol of the castle is the “Leckarsch”, a Droleriefigur* in a piquant pose, which is located at the southwest corner of the upper castle and around whose origin several legends entwine.
* (Drolerie=French: droll, often drastic representation of humans, animals or mythical creatures in medieval art).
Living history for the visitors
In a permanent exhibition, visitors can relive the history of the castle through photographs, contemporary documents and finds. In a palace for concerts and theater performances and a chapel for wedding ceremonies in a historical ambience, the fairy-tale castle enchants visitors again and again. In addition, the annual castle festival at Whitsun and the Christmas market on the 3rd weekend of Advent also attract many visitors.
Good to Know
March 31 – April
Tues. till Sun.: 10:00 till 16:00 hrs.
May – October
Tue. to Sun.: 11:00 to 17:00
November to March: Hibernation
Last admission 30 minutes before closing
Costs / booking options:
Single person: 3,00 €
Reduced (children 7- 16 years, pupils, students, military, civil and federal volunteers, groups of 15 persons or more): € 2.50
Family ticket (2 adults, 2 children): 6,50 €
School groups from 10 persons: 1,00 €/person
Guided tours by arrangement: one-time € 15.00
Contact & Approach
Am Oberschloss 1a
Tel.: +49 (0)36450 30460
< Zurück zu Burgen und Schlössern