Headquarter Luge Altdörnfeld
A local history museum & meeting house with a permanent exhibition
The Luge ancestral home dates from around 1651, as documented by a wooden plaque on the south gable. It was built by the large factory owner Luge.
The former inn
The house with its “black kitchen”, wooden ceiling parlour and ground-floor cellar once served as an inn and, until 1969, repeatedly as a residential house. At the end of the 1970s, Dorfjungend set up a youth room here, which was used for many parties and celebrations until 1980. From 1980 to 2010 it stood empty. The stable building had been demolished and the north gable had been provisionally boarded up with eternit boards. The half-timbering was dismantled a few years ago with a lot of skill and expertise and sorted for later re-installation.
Reopening as a museum of local history
Since then, a great deal of work has been done to restore and renovate the house. Local historian Barbara Koch reopened the main house as a local history museum. Numerous historical exhibits bear witness to the life of past times.
There is now a permanent exhibition of various pottery and pictures (woollen pictures) from their own production. By prior arrangement of one week, groups of up to 12 people can be served coffee and cake in the Luge headquarter on request.
Good to know
Mon – Fri: 14:00 -17:00
Sat – Sun: 11:00 -17:00 hrs
November – March: on request
Costs / booking options:
Adults, children from 14 years: € 2.50
Children from 7 years: € 1.50
Small groups, school classes by prior arrangement by telephone.
Coffee and cake or a small snack are available by prior arrangement by telephone.